Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

Hillary Rodham Clinton, Tyler Jacks, Andre Previn, and Melinda F. Gates Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Press Release

List of New Members (

2012 Class includes National and International Scholars, Artists, Scientists, Writers and Other Professionals including historian David W. Blight, volcanologist Katharine V. Cashman, mathematician Ngô Bao Châu, actor and director Clint Eastwood, musician Sir Paul McCartney, playwright Neil Simon, and mezzo-soprano Frederica von Stade

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of 220 new members, recognizing some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

“Election to the Academy is both an honor for extraordinary accomplishment and a call to serve,” said Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

An alphabetical list of the new members is located at: The new class listed by discipline is located at:

Members of the 2012 class include winners of the National Medal of Science, the Lasker Award, the Pulitzer and the Shaw prizes, the Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; the Kennedy Center Honors; Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards; the Avery Fisher Prize, and election to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Scientists among the newly elected Fellows include: James Fraser Stoddart, a chemist whose work helped establish the field of molecular nanotechnology; Angela M. Belcher, who uses directed evolution to create new materials and devices with applications in electronics, energy, and medicine; geological scientist Katharine V. Cashman, who helped explain why volcanos erupt the way they do; Gregory B. Olson, one of the founders of computational materials design; astronomer Debra A. Fischer, who helped discover more than 200 planetary systems; Robert P. Colwell, chief architect of Intel’s Pentium microprocessors; Tyler Jacks, who exploits gene-targeting technology in mice to understand cancer in humans; oncologist Brian Druker, whose research dramatically improved survival rates for leukemia patients; mathematician Ngô Bao Châu, winner of the Fields Medal; synthetic biology pioneer Jef Boeke; psychologist Robert Seyfarth, whose field research with monkeys shed light on the evolutionary origins of language; and Griffin P. Rodgers, director of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, whose research contributed to the first effective therapy for sickle cell anemia.

Social scientists include: economist Robert A. Moffitt, an authority on the incentives and disincentives inherent in the U.S. welfare system; Paul Mendes-Flohr, a leading scholar of modern Jewish thought and history; behavioral scientist Edward F. Diener, who pioneered methods of measuring well-being; legal scholar Shari S. Diamond, whose empirical research has influenced sentencing policy and jury procedures in U.S. courts; public finance economist Amy Finkelstein, whose work has shown how the structure of government programs affects health care choices and outcomes; political scientist James Druckman, who developed influential theories of how citizens form political opinions; and George F. Bass, a pioneer in underwater archaeology.

In the humanities and the arts, new members include: Civil War scholar David. W. Blight; Vicki L. Ruiz, whose research helped establish the field of Chicano/Latino history; poet Gerald Stern; sculptor Kiki Smith; American film icons Clint Eastwood and Mel Brooks; violinist Midori Goto; pianist, conductor, and composer Andre Previn; and mezzo-soprano Frederica von Stade.

Elected in public affairs and journalism are: sustainability expert Kamaljit Singh Bawa; former Tennessee Governor Phil Bredesen, Jr.; veteran diplomat R. Nicholas Burns; U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton; television journalist Judy Woodruff; and Boston Globe editor Martin Baron.

Business leaders in the 2012 class include: Amazon founder Jeffrey Bezos; Merck and Company Chairman, President and CEO Kenneth C. Frazier; Walt Disney Chairman and CEO Robert A. Iger; civic and business leader Penny S. Pritzker; Loews Corporation President and CEO James S. Tisch; and philanthropist and retired Citigroup Chairman Sanford I. Weill.

The new class also includes the leaders of educational, cultural, and philanthropic organizations including: Jared L. Cohon (Carnegie Mellon University); Melinda F. Gates (Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation); Steven S. Koblik (Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens); Reynold Levy (Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts); Carolyn A. Martin (Amherst College); and Michael A. McRobbie (Indiana University).

The Academy elected 17 Foreign Honorary Members from Argentina, Canada, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, South Africa, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. They include: Helmut Schwarz, President of Germany’s Alexander von Humboldt Foundation; Dutch stem cell researcher Johannes C. Clevers; French social anthropologist Philippe Descola; British playwright and director David Hare; South African artist William Kentridge; British recording artist Paul McCartney; Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho; British choreographer Christopher Wheeldon; Argentinian commentator and politician Rodolfo Hector Terragno; and Ismail Serageldin, director of Egypt’s Bibliotheca Alexendrina.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 6, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.


Media Inquiries