Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

American Academy Inducts 225th Class of Scholars, Scientists, Artists, Civic, Corporate and Philanthropic Leaders


Press Release

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – At an induction ceremony here on Saturday, October 8, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences will officially welcome its 225th class of Fellows.

Six newly elected members of the Academy will address colleagues at the ceremony: television journalist Tom Brokaw; physicist and Nobel laureate Eric Cornell; Harvard Law School dean and former White House official Elena Kagan; historian and University of Chicago provost Richard Saller; poet Susan Stewart; and genetics pioneer Nancy Wexler. The Academy’s President, Patricia Meyer Spacks, and its Executive Officer, Leslie Berlowitz, will also speak.

This year’s class includes, among others, a researcher who showed how the honeybee’s eyes and brain use the sky for navigation (Rudiger Wehner), a pioneer in molecular chemistry who invented more than 200 synthetic materials (Edith Flanigen), the leading authority on Peru’s oldest pre-Hispanic state (Christopher Donnan), the inventor of the Argon laser (William Bridges), the Principal Investigator for the Mars Exploration Rovers (Steven Squyers), an Academy Award-winning screenwriter (Horton Foote), a Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist (Art Spiegelman), the co-founders of Google (Larry Page and Sergey Brin) and the chairman and CEO of Time, Inc. (Ann Moore) and of the Washington Post Company (Donald Graham).

The 196 Fellows and 17 Foreign Honorary Members who make up the American Academy’s 225th class are leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs. They come from 26 states and 10 countries and include Nobel and Pulitzer Prize laureates, MacArthur and Guggenheim fellows. A complete list of new members is available on the Academy’s website at:

"The Academy takes great pride in honoring the accomplishments of these outstanding and influential individuals," said Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks, who will officiate at the day’s proceedings. "Throughout its history, Fellows of the Academy have been dedicated to advancing intellectual thought and constructive action in America and the world. We are confident that our newest group of Fellows will help us fulfill that mission in significant ways."

"The Induction ceremony is an opportunity to both welcome new members and celebrate the rich history of the organization, now well into its third century of service to the nation," said Chief Executive Officer Leslie Berlowitz. "The Academy both honors excellence by electing members to its fellowship and draws on that distinguished membership to address critical social and intellectual issues. Its programs support practical policy approaches to the most intractable problems of the day. It does so through studies, publications, meetings and symposia. The unique structure of the Academy allows members to conduct interdisciplinary studies that draw on the full range of academic and professional fields of its members".

On Saturday, new members will learn about the Academy's wide-ranging research program from current Fellows who lead some of the ongoing studies. They include Academy projects on improving the state of the humanities, the relationship between Congress and the Court, the future of the Internet, and universal education, among other topics. New members also will learn about the Academy's Visiting Scholars Program, designed to mentor a new generation of scholars and thinkers.

New Fellows and Honorary Foreign Members are nominated and elected by current members of the Academy. Members are divided into five broad classes: mathematics and physical sciences; biological sciences; social sciences; humanities and the arts; and public affairs, business and administration.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an independent research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems. Current Academy research focuses on: science and global security; social policy; the humanities and culture; and education. With headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the Academy's work is advanced by its 4,600 elected members, who are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business and public affairs from around the world. (

To view full listing of 2005 Academy Fellows, visit:


Media Inquiries