Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login
Home > Publications > Research Papers > > Contributors
Nuclear Reactors: Generation to Generation


Stephen M. Goldberg is Special Assistant to the Director at Argonne National Laboratory, where he is involved in several international projects on the economics of nuclear energy as well as a study on the economics of small modular reactors and supporting studies for the U.S. Department of Energy’s International Framework for Nuclear Energy Cooperation. Previously, he worked at the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) as its representative on nuclear security to the National Security Council. At OMB, he helped complete several major nonproliferation agreements, including one in which the United States would purchase highly enriched uranium from Russia to use as nuclear fuel in its power plants. Goldberg received the Executive Office of the President’s highest award for his assiduous work and dedication leading to successful negotiations between the United States government and the Russian Federation. He also received a series of outstanding achievement awards at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission in recognition of efforts to provide technical and economic advice to the Commission, including the licensing of the Seabrook Nuclear Station. He is Senior Advisor to the Academy’s Global Nuclear Future Initiative.

Robert Rosner is the William E. Wrather Distinguished Service Professor in the Departments of Astronomy and Astrophysics and Physics at the University of Chicago. He is former President of UChicago Argonne, LLC and former Director of Argonne National Laboratory. Previously he served as Chief Scientist and Associate Laboratory Director of the Center for Physical, Biological, and Computational Sciences at Argonne, Chairman of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the University of Chicago, and Director of the Center for Astrophysical Thermonuclear Flashes at the University of Chicago. He was Rothschild Visiting Professor at the Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences at the University of Cambridge in 2004. His research is in the areas of plasma astrophysics and astrophysical fluid dynamics and magnetohydrodynamics (including, especially, solar and stellar magnetic fields); high energy density physics; boundary mixing instabilities; combustion modeling; applications of stochastic differential equations and optimization problems; and inverse methods. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a Foreign Member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. He was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001 and serves as Senior Advisor to the Academy’s Global Nuclear Future Initiative. He also serves as a member of the Academy’s Council.