Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

Induction 2014

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducted some of the world's most distinguished scholars, artists, and institutional leaders on Saturday, October 11, 2014. The Induction Ceremony was part of a three-day series of events welcoming the 234th class of new Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members into the Academy.

2014 New Members [PDF]

Academy Members 1780-present

Video highlights of the Induction 2014 activities are included below. For information and videos from past years, click here.

2009th Stated Meeting
A Celebration of the Arts and Humanities
October 10, 2014
Don M. Randel
Chair of the Board,
American Academy of Arts & Sciences
Jonathan F. Fanton
American Academy of Arts & Sciences
Jill Lepore
David Woods Kemper ’ 41
Professor of American History and Harvard College Professor, Harvard University; Staff Writer, The New Yorker
Linda Gregerson
Poet, Caroline Walker Bynum Distinguished University Professor of English Language and Literature, University of Michigan
At Work
Maxwell K. Hearn
Douglas Dillon Chairman of the Department of Asian Art, The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Frank Lentricchia
Novelist, Literary Critic, Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor of Literature,
Duke University
At Work
El Anatsui
Artist; formerly, Professor of Sculpture, University of Nigeria
Amy Hempel
Fiction Writer, Senior Lecturer in English, Harvard University
At Work
Tere O’Connor
Artistic Director,
Tere O’Connor Dance; Center for Advanced Studies Professor of Dance, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Mary Jo Salter
Poet, Krieger-Eisenhower Professor and Cochair in The Writing Seminars, Johns Hopkins University
Jonathan F. Fanton
American Academy of Arts & Sciences
2010th Stated Meeting
Induction Ceremony
October 11, 2014
Call to Order

Don M. Randel,
Chair of the Board of the Academy

Jonathan F. Fanton
President of the Academy
Traditions of Membership

Jerrold Meinwald Secretary of the Academy
From the Letters of John and Abigail Adams
John Fabian Witt
Linda Darling-Hammond
Boston Children's Chorus
Class I Speaker
Ramamurti Shankar
Introduction by Authur Gelb
Class II Speaker
Diana H. Wall
Introduction by Nancy C. Andrews
Class III Speaker
Sherry Turkle
Introduction by Nannerl O. Keohane
Class IV Speaker

Mary Kelley
Introduction by Carol Gluck
Class V Speaker

John W. Rogers, Jr.
Introduction by Michael Gellert

Boston Children's Chorus
Closing Remarks & Adjournment
Jonathan F. Fanton
President of the Academy
2011th Stated Meeting
Ocean Exploration: Past, Present, and Future
October 12, 2014
Welcome & Call to Order
Jonathan F. Fanton President of the Academy

Robert D. Ballard
Founder and President, Ocean Exploration Trust; Director, Center for Ocean Exploration; Professor of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island Graduate School of Oceanography
Closing Remarks & Adjournment
Don M. Randel
Chair of the Board of the Academy
Highlights from Past Years