Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

Induction 2013

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducted some of the world's most distinguished scholars, artists, and institutional leaders on Saturday, October 12, 2013. The induction ceremony was part of a three-day series of events welcoming the 233rd class of new Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members into the Academy.

2013 New Members [PDF]

Academy Members 1780-present

Video highlights of the Induction 2013 activities are included below. For information and videos from past years, click here.

1998th Stated Meeting
A Celebration of the Arts and Humanities
Louis W. Cabot,
Chair of the Board
Gerald Early,
Chair of the Council
Emma Donoghue, Novelist, Short Story Writer, Playwright
Jeffrey Eugenides, Novelist, Short Story Writer
Martin Amis,
Novelist, Journalist, Short Story Writer
At Work
Roz Chast,
The New Yorker
Paul Theroux,
Novelist, Travel Writer
Natasha Trethewey,
U.S. Poet Laureate
At Work

Albert Maysles, President,
Maysles Films, Inc.
Award for Humanistic Studies
Awarded to
Helen Vendler,
Harvard University
Award for Humanistic Studies
Awarded to
Denis Donoghue,
New York University
Emerson-Thoreau Medal

Awarded to Philip Roth
(accepted on his behalf by Stephen Greenblatt, Harvard University)
Richard Stoltzman, Clarinetist
1999th Stated Meeting
Induction Ceremony

Louis W. Cabot,
Chair of the Board
Don M. Randel,
Chair-Elect of the Board
Traditions of Membership

Jerrold Meinwald, Secretary of the Academy
From the Letters of John and Abigail Adams
Ken Burns
Sally Field
Class I Speaker

Xiaowei Zhuang
Introduction by
Arthur Gelb
Class II Speaker
Marc Tessier-Lavigne
Introduction by
Samuel O. Thier
Class III Speaker
Alison Gopnik
Introduction by
Diane P. Wood
Class IV Speaker
Paula Fredriksen
Introduction by
William A. Graham
Class V Speaker
Phyllis M. Wise
Introduction by
John A. Katzenellenbogen
Herbie Hancock
Introduction by
Gerald Early
2000th Stated Meeting
Program on the Arts and Sciences

Don Randel,
Chair-Elect of the Board
Introduction of Ken Burns
Philip Bredesen, Former Governor of Tennessee
The Heart of the Matter
A short film from Ewers Brothers Productions

Ken Burns,
Florentine Films
Introduction of Ernest Moniz
Robert W. Fri, Resources for the Future

Ernest J. Moniz,
U.S. Department of Energy
Highlights from Past Years