Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

2017 Induction Weekend

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducted some of the world’s most distinguished scholars, artists, and institutional leaders on Saturday, October 7, 2017. The Induction Ceremony was part of a three-day series of events welcoming the 237th class of new Fellows and International Honorary Members into the Academy.

2017 New Members

Academy Members 1780-present

Video highlights of the Induction 2017 activities are included below. For information and videos from past years, click here.

2057th Stated Meeting
A Celebration of the Arts and Humanities
October 6, 2017
Nancy C. Andrews
Chair of the Board of the Academy
Jonathan F. Fanton
President of the Academy
At Work
Greil Marcus
Music and Cultural Critic
Brenda Hillman
Poet; Olivia C. Filippi Professor of Poetry, Saint Mary’s College of California
At Work
Faith Ringgold
Artist; Professor Emerita of Visual Arts, University of California, San Diego
Arthur C. Sze
Poet; Professor Emeritus of Creative Writing, Institute of American Indian Arts
At Work
Mark S. Slobin
Winslow-Kaplan Professor of Music Emeritus, Wesleyan University
At Work
Elizabeth Broun
Margaret and Terry Stent Director Emerita, Smithsonian American Art Museum
Lynn Nottage
Playwright; Associate Professor of Theater, Columbia University
Jonathan F. Fanton
President of the Academy
2058th Stated Meeting
Induction Ceremony
October 7, 2017
Call to Order

Nancy C. Andrews
Chair of the Board of the Academy

Jonathan F. Fanton
President of the Academy
Greeting to International Honorary Members
James Cuno
International Secretary of the Academy
Traditions of Membership & Reading

Kenneth Wallach
Diane Wood
From the Letters of John and Abigail Adams
Kathryn Fuller
John Lithgow

Boston Children's Chorus
Anthony Trecek-King, Artistic Director
Class I Speaker

Ursula Burns
Introduction by
Arthur Gelb
Class II Speaker

James P. Allison
Introduction by
Cherry A. Murray
Class III Speaker

Heather K. Gerken
Introduction by
David Hackett Souter
Class IV Speaker

Jane Mayer
Introduction by
Natasha Trethewey
Class V Speaker

Gerald Chan
Introduction by
Stephen Heintz
Closing Remarks & Adjournment
Jonathan F. Fanton
President of the Academy
2059th Stated Meeting
Annual David M. Rubenstein Lecture
“Looking at Earth: An Astronaut's Journey”
October 8, 2017
David M. Rubenstein
Co-Founder and Co-CEO, The Carlyle Group; Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Smithsonian Institution
Kathryn D. Sullivan
Lindbergh Fellow, Smithsonian Institution National Air and Space Museum
David M. Rubenstein
Kathryn D. Sullivan
Highlights from Past Years