Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

The Future of Power

Stated Meeting - Cambridge
Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Click speaker names for individual audio or video.

Leslie C. Berlowitz is President and the William T. Golden Chair of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is responsible for advancing the intellectual vision of the Academy and overseeing its research program, which is focused in five areas: science and technology policy; global security; social policy and American institutions; humanities and culture; and education. She has been a Fellow of the American Academy since 2004. Audio | Video (9 min.)
Jack Landman Goldsmith is the Henry L. Shattuck Professor at Harvard Law School, where he teaches and writes about national security law, presidential power, cybersecurity, international law, and Internet law. Goldsmith served as Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel in the U.S. Department of Justice, and as Special Counsel to the General Counsel of the Department of Defense. His publications include The Terror Presidency: Law and Judgment Inside the Bush Administration (2007), Who Controls the Internet? Illusions of a Borderless World (with Tim Wu, 2006), Foreign Relations Law: Cases and Materials (with Curtis A. Bradley 2006), and The Limits of International Law (with Eric A. Posner, 2005). He is a member of the American Society of International Law, the Council on Foreign Relations, the Hoover Institution National Security and Law Task Force, and the Supreme Court Bar. He was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2010. Audio | Video (4 min.)
Joseph S. Nye, Jr., is University Distinguished Service Professor and former Dean of the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. He has served as Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs, Chair of the National Intelligence Council, and Deputy Undersecretary of State for Security Assistance, Science, and Technology. He also served as U.S. Representative to the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Committee on Disarmament Matters. His publications include The Future of Power (2011), Understanding International Conflict (7th edition, 2008), The Powers to Lead (2008), Soft Power: The Means to Success in World Politics (2005), and The Power Game: A Washington Novel (2003). He is a recipient of Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson Award, the Charles Merriam Award from the American Political Science Association, and the Distinguished Scholar Award from the International Studies Association, as well as France’s Palmes Academiques. He is a Fellow of the British Academy and the American Academy of Diplomacy. He was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1984. Audio | Video (27 min.)

Upcoming Meetings and Other Events

View the Academy calendar of upcoming meetings and events.

Past Meetings, Lectures, and Other Events

Click on the year for a list of meetings and events, with audio and/or video recordings where available.