Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

Convocation of the Academies: Welcome

THE PUBLIC GOOD: Knowledge as the Foundation for a Democratic Society

Friday Evening, April 27, 2007

Click here for complete audio recording. (18 min.)

Welcome: Leslie Berlowitz is Chief Executive Officer of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. She is former Vice President for Academic Advancement and former Deputy Vice President for Academic Affairs at New York University. She serves on the board of the National Humanities Alliance and the Corporation of Yaddo. She has also served as a panelist of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Association of Medical Colleges/Robert Wood Minority Medical Education Program. Her publications include Restoring Trust in American Business (with Jay W. Lorsch and Andy Zelleke); Greenwich Village: Culture and Counterculture (with Rick Beard); and America in Theory (with Denis Donoghue and Louis Menand). She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.
    Mary Maples Dunn is Co-Executive Officer of the American Philosophical Society. The former Pforzheimer Foundation Director of the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, she also served as Acting President of Radcliffe and Acting Dean of the Radcliffe Institute at Harvard University. A long-time member of the Bryn Mawr College history faculty, she served as Dean of the undergraduate college and Academic Deputy to the President. She was President of Smith College from 1985–1995. Author of William Penn: Politics and Conscience and co-editor of The Founding of Pennsylvania and of The World of William Penn, she is also editor of Alexander von Humboldt: Political Essays on the Kingdom of New Spain and the four-volume The Papers of William Penn (with Richard S. Dunn). She is a member of the American Philosophical Society and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.



  Baruch S. Blumberg is Fox Chase Distinguished Scientist and Advisor to the President at the Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia and Professor of Medicine and Anthropology at the University of Pennsylvania. Awarded the Nobel Prize in 1976 for “discoveries concerning new mechanisms for the origin and dissemination of infectious diseases” and, specifically, for the discovery of the hepatitis B virus and the invention of the hepatitis B vaccine, he served as Director of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Astrobiology Institute at the Ames Research Center in California and then as Senior Advisor to the Administrator of NASA. He was Master of Balliol College, Oxford University, from 1989 to 1994, and, prior to that, Associate Director for Clinical Research at Fox Chase. He is a member of the American Philosophical Society, the National Academy of Sciences, and the Institute of Medicine; a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences; and President of the American Philosophical Society.
   Emilio Bizzi is Institute Professor at MIT, where he has been a member of the faculty since 1969. A neuroscientist whose research focuses on movement control and the neural substrate for motor learning, he has published book chapters, abstracts, and over 165 articles in refereed journals. He is a trustee of the Neurosciences Research Foundation, Inc.; a member of the Board of Scientific Advisors for NYU’s Center for Neural Science; and a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Motor Behavior, the Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience, and many others. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, a member of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, and a member of the Harvard University Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and serves as its President.
   Ralph J. Cicerone is President of the National Academy of Sciences. Former Chancellor of the University of California at Irvine, he is an atmospheric scientist whose research in atmospheric chemistry and climate change has shaped science and environmental policy both nationally and internationally and contributed to the understanding of greenhouse gases and ozone depletion. The 1999 Laureate of the Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science, he also received the American Geophysical Union’s James B. Macelwane Award and Roger Revelle Medal for outstanding contributions to geophysics. In 2004 the World Cultural Council honored him with the Albert Einstein World Award in Science. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.
   Harvey V. Fineberg is President of the Institute of Medicine. From 1997– 2001 he served as Provost of Harvard University, following thirteen years as Dean of the Harvard School of Public Health. He has devoted most of his academic career to the fields of health policy and medical decision making. His research has focused on the process of policy development and implementation, assessment of medical technology, evaluation and use of vaccines, and dissemination of medical innovations. Co-author of Clinical Decision Analysis, Innovators in Physician Education, and The Epidemic that Never Was, he was honored with the Joseph W. Mountin Prize from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Upcoming Meetings and Other Events

View the Academy calendar of upcoming meetings and events.

Past Meetings, Lectures, and Other Events

Click on the year for a list of meetings and events, with audio and/or video recordings where available.