Advanced Search
  News  Expand   News  
    About    Expand     About    
  Projects  Expand   Projects  
  Members  Expand   Members  
  Publications  Expand   Publications  
  Meetings  Expand   Meetings  
  Fellowships  Expand   Fellowships &nbsp
  Member Login

National Induction Ceremony

American Academy to Induct 2001 Fellows

October 9, 2001 - Patricia Meyer Spacks, the American Academy of Arts and Science's 45th President, will preside over the 2001 American Academy Induction ceremony on October 13th in Cambridge, MA. The Academy's first woman president, Spacks is a leading authority on 18th century English literature. Speakers at the ceremony include several of the newly inducted Fellows to the prestigious American Academy, the nation's leading learned society. Former U.S. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, music producer Quincy Jones, Qualcomm founder Irwin Jacobs, stem cell researcher Brigid Hogan, Humanities Professor Andrew Delbanco, and SunAmerica Chairman Eli Broad are scheduled to address the Academy membership. The talks will be given as part of a daylong celebration honoring this year's class of new Academy Members.

The American Academy was founded in 1770 by John Adams and other scholar-patriots to "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people." The current membership of over 3,700 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. Drawing on the wide-ranging expertise of its membership, the Academy conducts thoughtful, innovative, non-partisan studies on international security, social policy, education, and the humanities.

This year's class of new Members of 185 Fellows and 26 Foreign Honorary Members include writer Luc Sante; former Amgen CEO Gordon Binder; World Wide Web inventor Timothy Berners-Lee; economist and chess grandmaster Kenneth Rogoff; historian and Revson Foundation President Eli Evans; microbiologist Anthony Cerami; musicologist and University of Chicago president Don Randel; syndicated columnist Geneva Overholser; photographer Richard Avedon; Tony-winning lyricist Stephen Sondheim; former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Robert Rubin; former playwright and president of the Czech Republic Vaclav Havel; Judge Rosalyn Higgins of the International Court of Justice; and Olga Ladyzhenskaya, director of the Laboratory for Mathematical Physics at the Russian Academy of Sciences.

When: October 13, 2001, 4 P.M.

Where: Ropes Gray Room, Pound Hall Harvard Law School 1563 Massachusetts Avenue

Upcoming Meetings and Other Events

View the Academy calendar of upcoming meetings and events.

Past Meetings, Lectures, and Other Events

Click on the year for a list of meetings and events, with audio and/or video recordings where available.