

Members of the Commission on the Practice of Democratic Citizenship

Co-Chairs

- Danielle Allen, James Bryant Conant University Professor and Director of the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics, Harvard University
- Stephen Heintz, President, Rockefeller Brothers Fund
- Eric Liu, Founder and CEO, Citizen University

Members

- Sayu Bhojwani, President, The New American Leaders Project
- Danah Boyd, Founder, Data & Society
- Philip Bredesen, former Governor of Tennessee
- David Brooks, Columnist, The New York Times
- Lisa Conn, Civic Community Partnerships, Facebook
- Alan Dachs, President/CEO, Fremont Group
- Dee Davis, President, Center for Rural Strategies
- Jonathan Fanton, President, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- Sam Gill, Vice President for Communities and Impact, Knight Foundation
- Marie Griffith, Professor of Religion, Washington University, Saint Louis
- Hahrie Han, Professor of Political Science, University of California, Santa Barbara
- Antonia Hernandez, President and CEO, California Community Foundation
- Wallace Jefferson, Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend, Austin, TX
- Joseph Kahne, Professor of Education Policy, University of California, Riverside
- Kei Kawashima-Ginsberg, Director, Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement, Tufts University
- Yuval Levin, Editor, National Affairs
- Carolyn Lukensmeyer, Executive Director, National Institute for Civil Discourse
- Martha McCoy, Executive Director, Everyday Democracy
- Steven Olikara, Founder, Millennial Action Project
- Norman Ornstein, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute
- Robert Peck, Managing Director, FPR Partners
- Pete Peterson, Dean, School of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
- Alejandro Portes, Research Professor of Sociology, University of Miami
- Miles Rapoport, Senior Fellow, Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation, Kennedy School, Harvard University
- Michael Schudson, Professor of Journalism, Columbia University

- Sterling Speirn, CEO, National Conference on Citizenship
- Marcelo Suarez-Orozco, Dean of Graduate School of Education, University of California, Los Angeles
- Ben Vinson, Dean, Columbian College of Arts and Sciences, George Washington University
- Diane Wood, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit
- Judy Woodruff, Anchor, PBS NewsHour
- Ethan Zuckerman, Director, Center for Civic Media, Massachusetts Institute of Technology