Spring 2013 Bulletin

Around the Country

Washington, D.C.

March 18, 2013

Leslie C. Berlowitz (President of the Academy) welcomed Fellows and guests to a reception at the Cosmos Club in Washington, D.C. Steven Knapp (President of The George Washington University), Richard A. Meserve (President of the Carnegie Institution for Science), Norman Ornstein (Resident Scholar at the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research), William A. Galston (Senior Fellow and the Ezra K. Zilkha Chair in Governance Studies at the Brookings Institution), and Robert W. Fri (Visiting Scholar and Senior Fellow Emeritus at Resources for the Future) spoke about Academy projects in the humanities, arts, and education; global security and energy; and American institutions and the public good.

Robert Gagosian and Cora Marrett C. Dan Mote, Jr. and Charles Holliday, Jr.
Robert Gagosian (Consortium for Ocean Leadership) and Cora Marrett (National Science Foundation)

C. Dan Mote, Jr. (National Academy of Engineering; University of Maryland) and Charles Holliday, Jr. (Bank of America)

Andrew Feinberg and Donald McHenry Karl Eikenberry and Stephen Trachtenberg
Andrew Feinberg (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine) and Donald McHenry (Georgetown University)

Karl Eikenberry (Stanford University) and Stephen Trachtenberg (The George Washington University)

John Bryson and G. Wayne Clough Norman Ornstein and Marvin Kalb
John Bryson (Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars) and G. Wayne Clough (Smithsonian Institution)

Norman Ornstein (American Enterprise Institute) and Marvin Kalb (United States Institute of Peace)

Norman Neureiter, Richard Meserve, and Robert Fri
Norman Neureiter (American Association for the Advancement of Science), Richard Meserve (Carnegie Institution for Science), and Robert Fri (Resources for the Future)

New York City

May 9, 2013

More than 100 Academy members and guests attended a reception in New York City in honor of New York Area Fellows. Louis W. Cabot (Chair of the Board and Chair of the Trust of the Academy), Leslie C. Berlowitz (President of the Academy), Annette Gordon-Reed (Carol K. Pforzheimer Professor, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study; Charles Warren Professor of American Legal History, Harvard Law School; Professor of History, Harvard University), and Richard Sylla (Henry Kaufman Professor of the History of Financial Institutions and Markets, Professor of Economics, New York University Stern School of Business) spoke about the unique role that the Academy plays in addressing complex challenges to our global society.

Katepalli Sreenivasan, Sudha Sreenivasan, and Maxwell Gottesman Louis W. Cabot and Carol Gluck
Katepalli Sreenivasan (Polytechnic Institute of New York University), Sudha Sreenivasan (New York, New York), and Maxwell Gottesman (Columbia University Medical Center)

Louis W. Cabot (Cabot-Wellington, LLC) and Carol Gluck (Columbia University)

Annette Gordon-Reed, Frederick Schauer, and Robert Keohane Martin Leibowitz and Richard Sylla
Annette Gordon-Reed (Harvard University), Frederick Schauer (University of Virginia School of Law), and Robert Keohane (Princeton University)

Martin Leibowitz (Morgan Stanley) and Richard Sylla (New York University Stern School of Business)

Mark Kaplan, Michael Gellert, and Alfred Spector Wayne Proudfoot, Judith Shapiro, and George Rupp
Mark Kaplan (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP & Affiliates), Michael Gellert (Windcrest Partners), and Alfred Spector (Google, Inc.)

Wayne Proudfoot (Columbia University), Judith Shapiro (Barnard College; Teagle Foundation), and George Rupp (International Rescue Committee)

Jerald Milanich, John Wilford, and Maxine Margolis David W. McLaughlin, Barry Coller, and Martin Blaser
Jerald Milanich (University of Florida; Florida Museum of Natural History), John Wilford (New York Times), and Maxine Margolis (University of Florida; Columbia University)

David W. McLaughlin (New York University), Barry Coller (Rockefeller University), and Martin Blaser (New York University School of Medicine)

Edward Rothstein, Leslie C. Berlowitz, and Albert Maysles
Edward Rothstein (New York Times Company), Leslie C. Berlowitz (American Academy), and Albert Maysles (New York, New York)

San Francisco, California

May 21, 2013

Academy Trust member Alan M. Dachs (President and Chief Executive Officer of Fremont Group) and Laurie Dachs (President of the S. D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation) welcomed Fellows and guests to a reception in San Francisco in honor of newly elected Bay Area Fellows. Leslie C. Berlowitz (President of the Academy), Robert J. Birgeneau (Chancellor Emeritus of the University of California, Berkeley), Jesse H. Choper (Earl Warren Professor of Public Law at uc Berkeley School of Law), and Keith R. Yamamoto (Vice Chancellor for Research and Executive Vice Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco) spoke about the Academy’s role as an independent policy research center, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to address critical challenges facing our global society.

Arun Majumdar and Peter Norvig Gordon Bell and Deepak Srivastava
Arun Majumdar (Google.org) and Peter Norvig (Google, Inc.)

Gordon Bell (Microsoft Corporation) and Deepak Srivastava (Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease; University of California, San Francisco)

Sharon Levy, Jay Levy, and Keith Yamamoto Alan Dachs and Laurie Dachs
Sharon Levy (San Francisco, CA), Jay Levy (University of California, San Francisco), and Keith Yamamoto (University of California, San Francisco)

Alan Dachs (Fremont Group) and Laurie Dachs (S. D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation)

T. Don Tilley and Claude Fischer Regis Kelly and Richard Rosenberg
T. Don Tilley (University of California, Berkeley) and Claude Fischer (University of California, Berkeley)

Regis Kelly (QB3, California Institute for Science and Innovation; University of California, San Francisco) and Richard Rosenberg (Bank of America, San Francisco)

George Shultz, Bernard Osher, and Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr.
George Shultz (Stanford University), Bernard Osher (Bernard Osher Foundation), and Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr. (Bechtel Group, Inc.; Fremont Group)