Summer 2019 Bulletin


Select Prizes and Awards to Members

Arden Bement Jr. (Purdue University) is the recipient of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award of the International Association of Top Professionals.

Lauren Berlant (University of Chicago) is the recipient of the Norman Maclean Faculty Award.

José Cabranes (United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit) is the recipient of the 2019 Philip Merrill Award for Outstanding Contributions to Liberal Arts Education, given by the American Council of Trustees and Alumni.

Nancy Cartwright (Durham University, United Kingdom; University of California, San Diego) is the recipient of the Carl Gustav Hempel Award, given by the Philosophy of Science Association.

Pietro De Camilli (Yale School of Medicine) was awarded the 2019 Ernst Jung Gold Medal for Medicine by the Jung Foundation for Science and Research.

Karl Freed (University of Chicago) is the recipient of the Norman Maclean Faculty Award.

Denise Galloway (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center) received the 2019 Seattle Association for Women in Science Award for Science Advancement and Leadership.

Naomi Halas (Rice University) received the 2019 ACS Nano Lectureship Award, given by the American Chemical Society.

Martin Jay (University of California, Berkeley) received the American Historical Association’s Distinguished Scholar Award. He was also elected to the American Philosophical Society.

Gerald Joyce (Salk Institute for Biological Sciences) has been elected a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Robert Kraft (The Kraft Group) was awarded the Genesis Prize.

Emi Nakamura (University of California, Berkeley) was awarded the John Bates Clark Medal.

Alejandro Portes (University of Miami) received the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award in the Social Sciences.

Michael C. J. Putnam (Brown University) was given the Arete Award by The Paideia Institute for Humanistic Study.

Jeremy W. Thorner (University of California, Berkeley) received the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology’s 2019 Herbert Tabor Research Award.

Stephen Joel Trachtenberg (The George Washington University) was inducted into the Washington, DC, Hall of Fame Society.

Anne Villeneuve (Stanford University) is the recipient of the 2019 Genetics Society of America Medal.

New Appointments

Frances Arnold (California Institute of Technology) was appointed to the Scientific Advisory Board of Conagen Inc.

Katherine Baicker (University of Chicago) was named to the Board of Directors of HMS Holdings Corp.

Lonnie G. Bunch III (Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of African American History and Culture) has been appointed Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

Heather Gerken (Yale Law School) was elected to the Board of Trustees of Princeton University.

Lynne E. Maquat (University of Rochester) was named to the Scientific Advisory Board of Expansion Therapeutics, Inc.

Nancy Peretsman (Allen & Company LLC) was elected a public trustee of the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees.

Pamela Silver (Harvard University) was appointed to the Scientific Advisory Board of Conagen Inc.

Michael S. Turner (University of Chicago) was appointed Senior Strategic Advisor at the Kav­li Foundation.

Select Publications


Charles Simic (University of New Hampshire). Come Closer and Listen: New Poems. HarperCollins, July 2019



Amy Hempel (Stony Brook Southampton). Sing to It: New Stories. Scribner, March 2019

Thomas Mallon (Washington, DC). Landfall. Pantheon, February 2019



Christopher Benfey (Mount Holyoke College). If: The Untold Story of Kipling’s American Years. Penguin Press, July 2019

Partha Dasgupta (University of Cambridge). Time and the Generations: Population Ethics for a Diminishing Planet. Columbia University Press, June 2019

Eric Foner (Columbia University). The Second Founding: How the Civil War and Reconstruction Remade the Constitution. W.W. Norton, September 2019

Amy Gutmann (University of Pennsylvania) and Jonathan D. Moreno (University of Pennsylvania). Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven but Nobody Wants to Die: Bioethics and the Transformation of Health Care in America. Liveright, August 2019

Paul Theroux (East Sandwich, Massachusetts). On the Plain of Snakes: A Mexican Journey. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, October 2019


Faith Ringgold (University of California, San Diego). Faith Ringgold. Serpentine Gallery, London, June 6–September 8, 2019

We invite all Fellows and International Honorary Members to send notices about their recent and forthcoming pub­lications, scientific findings, exhibitions and performances, films and documentaries, and honors and prizes to