Scott Sheffield

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, and Statistics

Scott Sheffield is the Leighton Faculty Professor of Mathematics at the Massachusetts Insitute of Technology (MIT). He joined the MIT faculty as Professor in 2008, following a faculty appointments at the Courant Institute at NYU. He received a PhD in mathematics from Stanford University in 2003 under the supervision of Amir Dembo, and completed the AB and AM degrees in mathematics from Harvard in 1998.

Sheffield is a probability theorist, working on geometrical questions that arise in such areas as statistical physics, game theory and metric spaces, as well as long-standing problems in percolation theory. A Sloan fellow and NSF Faculty CAREER awardee, Sheffield received the 2006 Rollo Davidson award for work on spatial models of probability theory and especially their relationship to stochastic (Schramm) Loewner evolutions. He received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2009. In 2011 he was selected for the Line and Michel Loeve International Prize in Probability, awarded by U.C. Berkeley every two years, "to recognize outstanding contributions by researchers in probability who are under 45 years old." In 2014 he was awarded a Simons Fellowship in Mathematics. In 2016, Quanta Magazine featured Sheffield's comprehensive work on random two-dimensional geometric surfaces in a three-paper series. He also received an Aisenstadt Chair at the Center for Mathematical Research, University of Montreal for September 2016. In 2017 he received the Clay Research Award (with Jason Miller, former Schramm Fellow), "in recognition of their introduction of a novel geometric combinatorial method to study doubling properties of solutions to elliptic eigenvalue problems." In 2021, Sheffield was elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

In 2017 he was elected by Society members to the Editorial Board Committee of the American Mathematical Society, February 2017 to January 2020. He currently serves as the Postdoc Officer (effective July 2019) in the Mathematics Department.

Last Updated