2022 Projects, Publications & Meetings of the Academy

Affiliates of the American Academy

Back to table of contents

The Affiliates program is a partnership between the Academy and leading colleges, universities, and cultural and scientific organizations. The Academy and its Affiliates are united by a shared commitment to the vitality of higher education, the value of research, and to advancing the common good. This network provides essential support for the work of the Academy and is a vehicle for important conversations about the higher education landscape. The network convenes regularly, including at an inaugural annual meeting in Aspen, CO.

Amherst College
Michael A. Elliott, President

Arizona State University
Michael M. Crow, President

Barnard College
Sian Beilock, President

Bates College
Clayton Spencer, President

Boston University
Robert A. Brown, President

Brandeis University
Ronald D. Liebowitz, President

Brown University
Christina Hull Paxson, President

California Institute of Technology
Thomas F. Rosenbaum, President

Carnegie Institution for Science
Eric D. Isaacs, President

Carnegie Mellon University
Farnam Jahanian, President

Columbia University
Lee C. Bollinger, President

Cornell University
Martha E. Pollack, President

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Laurie H. Glimcher, President and CEO

Dartmouth College
Philip J. Hanlon, President

Duke University
Vincent E. Price, President

Emory University
Gregory L. Fenves, President

Georgetown University
John J. DeGioia, President

The George Washington University
Mark S. Wrighton, President

Georgia Institute of Technology
Ángel Cabrera, President

The J. Paul Getty Trust
Katherine Fleming, President and CEO

Harvard University
Lawrence S. Bacow, President

Indiana University
Pamela Whitten, President

Johns Hopkins University
Ronald J. Daniels, President

Louisiana State University
William F. Tate IV, President

Lowell Observatory
William Lowell Putnam, IV, Trustee

Macalester College
Suzanne Rivera, President

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
L. Rafael Reif, President

Michigan State University
Samuel L. Stanley, Jr., President

Middlebury College
Laurie L. Patton, President

New York University
Andrew D. Hamilton, President

Northeastern University
Joseph E. Aoun, President

Northwestern University
Morton O. Schapiro, President

The Ohio State University
Kristina M. Johnson, President

Pomona College
G. Gabrielle Starr, President

Princeton University
Christopher L. Eisgruber, President

Rice University
Reginald DesRoches, President

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Jonathan Holloway, President

Rutgers University–Newark
Nancy E. Cantor, Chancellor

Sarah Lawrence College
Cristle Judd, President

Smith College
Kathleen McCartney, President

Smithsonian Institution
Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary

Spelman College
Helene Gayle, President

Stanford University
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President

Stony Brook University
Maurie McInnis, President

Swarthmore College
Valerie Smith, President

Syracuse University
Kent D. Syverud, Chancellor and President

Texas A&M University
Katherine M. Banks, President

Tufts University
Anthony P. Monaco, President

University of Arizona
Robert C. Robbins, President

University of California, Berkeley
Carol T. Christ, Chancellor

University of California, Davis
Gary S. May, Chancellor

University of California, Irvine
Howard Gillman, Chancellor

University of California, Los Angeles
Gene D. Block, Chancellor

University of California, Riverside
Kim A. Wilcox, Chancellor

University of California, San Diego
Pradeep K. Khosla, Chancellor

University of California, Santa Barbara
Henry T. Yang, Chancellor

University of California, Santa Cruz
Cynthia K. Larive, Chancellor

University of Chicago
Paul Alivisatos, President

University of Florida
W. Kent Fuchs, President

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Robert J. Jones, Chancellor

University of Iowa
Barbara J. Wilson, President

University of Maryland
Darryll J. Pines, President

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Kumble R. Subbaswamy, Chancellor

University of Miami
Julio Frenk, President

University of Michigan
Santa J. Ono, President

University of Minnesota
Joan T.A. Gabel, President

University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ronnie D. Green, Chancellor

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kevin M. Guskiewicz, Chancellor

University of Notre Dame
Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., President

University of Oregon
Michael H. Schill, President

University of Pennsylvania
M. Elizabeth Magill, President

University of Pittsburgh
Patrick D. Gallagher, Chancellor

University of Rochester         
Sarah C. Mangelsdorf, President

University of Southern California
Carol L. Folt, President

University of Texas at Austin
Jay Hartzell, President

University of Texas System
James B. Milliken, Chancellor

University of Utah
Taylor R. Randall, President

University of Virginia
James E. Ryan, President

University of Washington
Ana Mari Cauce, President

University of Wisconsin-Madison
Jennifer L. Mnookin, Chancellor

Vanderbilt University
Daniel Diermeier, Chancellor

Vassar College
Elizabeth Bradley, President

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Timothy D. Sands, President

Wake Forest University
Susan R. Wente, President

Washington University in St. Louis
Andrew D. Martin, Chancellor

Wellesley College
Paula A. Johnson, President

Yale University
Peter Salovey, President


For more information, please contact:

Patrick Meade
Membership Engagement Associate