Civil Justice for All

Project Participants

Back to table of contents
Making Justice Accessible: Legal Services for the 21st Century



Rachel L. Braunstein
Managing Policy Attorney, Her Justice

Tonya L. Brito (Cochair)
Jefferson Burrus-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School

Stacy Brustin
Professor of Law, The Catholic University of America

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar
Justice, Supreme Court of California

Sara S. Greene
Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law

Daniel L. Hatcher
Professor of Law, Saul Ewing Civil Advocacy Clinic, University of Baltimore

Bonnie Rose Hough
Managing Attorney, Center for Families, Children & the Courts, Judicial Council of California

Shani M. King
Professor; Director, Center on Children and Families, University of Florida Levin College of Law

Lance Liebman (Cochair)
William S. Beinecke Professor of Law Emeritus and Dean Emeritus, Columbia Law School

Lora J. Livingston
Presiding Judge, 261st District Court

David Lopez
Co-Dean, Professor of Law, Alfred Slocum Scholar, Rutgers Law-Newark

Paul Reiber
Chief Justice, Vermont Supreme Court

Jessica Dixon Weaver
Associate Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law





Jay Chaudhary
Director of the Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addiction, Indiana Family and Social Services Administration

Thomas Ehrlich
Adjunct Professor, Stanford Graduate School of Education

Kenneth Frazier
Chairman and CEO, Merck & Co., Inc.

William C. Hubbard
Dean, University of South Carolina School of Law

Ellen Lawton
Principal Investigator and Lead Research Scientist; Codirector, National Center for Medical-Legal Partnership, George Washington University

John G. Levi (Cochair)
Chairman, Legal Services Corporation;
Partner, Sidley Austin LLP

Ed Marks
Statewide Pro Bono Manager, Legal Aid Services of Oregon

Dayna Bowen Matthew
Dean and Harold H. Greene Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School

Julie Reiskin
Executive Director, Colorado Cross-
Disability Coalition

Randye Retkin
Director and Founder of LegalHealth

Allison Rice (Cochair)
Director, Health Justice Clinic,
Duke University

Matt Selig
Executive Director, Health Law Advocates

James Teufel
Director and Associate Professor of Public Health, Moravian College

Michele S. Warman
Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer, General Counsel, and Secretary, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation





Colleen Cotter (Cochair)
Executive Director, The Legal Aid Society of Cleveland

Fern Fisher
Special Assistant for Social Justice Initiatives to the Dean of the Maurice A. Deane School of Law, Hofstra University; former Director, New York State Courts Access to Justice Program

Risa L. Goluboff
Dean; Arnold H. Leon Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law

John Mark Hansen
Charles L. Hutchinson Distinguished Service Professor, The University of Chicago

Nathan L. Hecht
Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas

Luz Herrera
Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Experiential Education, Texas A&M University School of Law

David F. Levi
Levi Family Professor of Law and Judicial Studies and Director of the Bolch Judicial Institute, Duke University

Jonathan Lippman
Of Counsel, Latham & Watkins

Susan M. Liss
Nonprofit Counsel/Consultant; Former Executive Director, Justice at Stake

Margaret H. Marshall
Senior Counsel, Choate, Hall and Stewart

Laurie Mikva
Clinical Assistant Professor of Law, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

John Pollock
Coordinator, National Coalition for a Civil Right to Counsel, Public Justice Center

Raphael Ramos
Director, Eviction Defense Project, Legal Action of Wisconsin

Judith Resnik
Arthur Liman Professor of Law, Yale Law School

Blake Strode
Executive Director, ArchCity Defenders

Diane P. Wood (Cochair)
Chief Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit

Lawrence Wood
Supervisory Attorney, Legal Aid Chicago





Elizabeth Chambliss (Cochair)
Henry Harman Edens Professor of Law; Director, NMRS Center on Professionalism, University of South Carolina School of Law

Margaret Hagan
Director, Stanford Legal Design Lab

Ben Heineman, Jr.
Senior Fellow, Harvard Law School; Senior Fellow, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University

Karen Lash
Director, The Justice in Government Project, American University

Mary McQueen
President, National Center for State Courts

Patrick Palace
Owner, Palace Law; Executive Council Member, National Conference of Bar Presidents

Rohan Pavuluri
CEO and Cofounder, Upsolve; Board Director, National Center for Access to Justice

Andrew Perlman (Cochair)
Dean and Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School

Erika Rickard
Project Director, Civil Legal System Modernization, The Pew Charitable Trusts

Daniel B. Rodriguez
Harold Washington Professor, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Tanina Rostain
Professor of Law, and Faculty Director, Institute for Technology Law and Policy, Georgetown University Law Center

Rebecca L. Sandefur
Professor, School of Social and Family Dynamics, Arizona State University; Faculty Fellow, American Bar Foundation

James Sandman
Distinguished Lecturer, University of Pennsylvania Law School; President Emeritus, Legal Services Corporation

Quinten Steenhuis
Senior Housing Attorney and Network Administrator, Greater Boston Legal Services

John Suh
CEO, LegalZoom

Jo-Ann Wallace
President and CEO, National Legal Aid and Defender Association





Lincoln Caplan
Senior Research Scholar, Yale Law School

Sean Clark
Director, Veterans Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Matthew Diller
Dean and Paul Fuller Professor of Law, Fordham School of Law

Karl Eikenberry
Former U.S. Ambassador to Afghanistan and Lieutenant General, U.S. Army, retired

Lara Eilhardt
Attorney, VA Office of General Counsel,
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Ronald Flagg
President, Legal Services Corporation

Nancy Gertner
Senior Lecturer on Law, Harvard Law School

Nan Heald (Cochair)
Executive Director, Pine Tree Legal Assistance

John Kroger
Vice President, Aspen Institute

Harriet Miers
Partner, Locke Lord LLP

Martha Minow (Cochair)
300th Anniversary University Professor and former Dean, Harvard Law School

Patrick Murphy
Distinguished Chair of Innovation, United States Military Academy at West Point; Senior Fellow, Association of the U.S. Army; Executive Chairman, WorkMerk

Daniel Nagin
Clinical Professor of Law; Vice Dean for Experiential and Clinical Education; Faculty Director, WilmerHale Legal Services Center & Veterans Legal Clinic, Harvard Law School

Patricia E. Roberts
Dean; Charles E. Cantú Distinguished Professor of Law, St. Mary’s University School of Law

Nancy Sherman
University Professor and Professor of Philosophy, Georgetown University

Bart Stichman
Executive Director, National Veterans Legal Services Program

Kayla Williams
Senior Fellow and Director, Military, Veterans, and Society Program, Center for a New American Security

Michael Wishnie
William O. Douglas Clinical Professor of Law and Counselor to the Dean, Yale Law School