Geraldine L. Richmond

U.S. Department of Energy
Chemist; Educator
Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Geraldine (Geri) Richmond currently serves as the Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon. Bridging the fields of chemistry and physics, Richmond’s research focusses on understanding the molecular characteristics of water surfaces, studies that have relevance to environmental issues such as oil remediation, atmospheric chemistry and alternative energy sources. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and has received numerous awards including the National Medal of Science from President Obama, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring from President Clinton and the American Chemical Society’s highest honor, the Priestley Medal. She has served in many leadership roles including as the U.S. Science Envoy for the Lower Mekong River countries, as President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), as a Presidential appointee to the U.S. National Science Board and as President of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Honor Society. She is the Founding Director of COACh, a grass-roots organization that has helped over 25,000 women scientists and engineers in career advancement in the U.S. and around the globe since 1997. She was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2006.

Last Updated