The Perils of Complacency

Committee on New Models for U.S. Science & Technology Policy

Back to table of contents
New Models for U.S. Science and Technology Policy

Norman R. Augustine, Cochair, retired Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation; former Under Secretary of the U.S. Army; former Chairman, National Academy of Engineering

Neal Lane, Cochair, Professor of Physics and Astronomy Emeritus, Rice University; Senior Fellow for Science and Technology Policy, Rice University’s Baker Institute for Public Policy; former Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy; former Director, National Science Foundation

Nancy C. Andrews, Nanaline H. Duke Professor of Pediatrics and of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, Duke University School of Medicine; former Dean, Duke University School of Medicine and former Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Thomas R. Cech, Distinguished Professor, University of Colorado Boulder; Investigator and former President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Steven Chu, William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Physics and Molecular & Cellular Physiology, Stanford University; former U.S. Secretary of Energy; former Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Jared Cohon, President Emeritus and University Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

James J. Duderstadt, President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, University of Michigan

Mark C. Fishman, Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology, Harvard University; Chief, Pathways Consult Service, Massachusetts General Hospital

Sylvester James Gates, Jr., Ford Foundation Professor of Physics and Affiliate Professor of Mathematics, Brown University

Bart Gordon, Partner, K&L Gates; former U.S. Representative for Tennessee; former Chairman, House Committee on Science and Technology

M.R.C. Greenwood, President Emerita, University of Hawaii; Chancellor Emerita, University of California, Santa Cruz; Distinguished Professor Emerita of Nutrition and Internal Medicine, University of California, Davis; former Associate Director for Science, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

John L. Hennessy, Chair, Alphabet, Inc.; former President, Stanford University; Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Stanford University

Charles O. Holliday, Jr., Chair, Royal Dutch Shell plc; former Chairman of the Board, Bank of America; former Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company

Peter S. Kim, Virginia & D.K. Ludwig Professor of Biochemistry, Stanford University; former President, Merck Research Laboratories; former Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Richard A. Meserve, Senior Of Counsel, Covington & Burling LLP; President Emeritus, Carnegie Institution for Science; former Chairman, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

C.D. Mote, Jr., former President, National Academy of Engineering; Vice Chair, National Research Council; Regents Professor & Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering and former President, University of Maryland

Venkatesh “Venky” Narayanamurti, Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy, Engineering and Applied Sciences, and Physics Emeritus, Harvard University; former Director, Science, Technology, and Public Policy Program, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School; former Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and Dean of Physical Sciences, Harvard University

Maxine L. Savitz, Honeywell, Inc., ret.; former Co-Vice Chair, President’s Council of Advisors for Science and Technology; former Vice President, National Academy of Engineering

Robert F. Sproull, Adjunct Professor of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst; former Director, Oracle Labs, Oracle Corporation

Subra Suresh, President, Nanyang Technological University; President Emeritus, Carnegie Mellon University; former Director, National Science Foundation; former Dean and Vannevar Bush Professor of Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Shirley M. Tilghman, President Emerita and Professor of Molecular Biology and Public Affairs, Princeton University

Jeannette M. Wing, Avanessians Director, Data Science Institute, and Professor of Computer Science, Columbia University; former Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Research; former Assistant Director for Computer and Information Science and Engineering, National Science Foundation; former Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Head of the Computer Science Department, Carnegie Mellon University

Elias Zerhouni, former President of Global Research and Development, Sanofi; former Director, National Institutes of Health; former Director, Department of Radiology and Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs, Vice Dean for Research, and Executive Vice Dean, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine